top of page
  • Writer's pictureJess Eastman

Explaining Climbing


Its kind of amazing how time flies. Its also really scary to think its already April. What happened to the start of the year? It feels like I didn't do anything. Instead of writing a paper that really needs to get out, I started a blog about climbing. The casual style of a blog is a lot easier to handle than the formal scientific style of a paper. For some reason I hate being formal in my writing but I really do like to write. Maybe its because I'm so critical of my own writing when it needs to be formal. I can barely get anything down, I write a sentence and immediately delete it because its not perfect. Whereas the casual style required for a blog means I can just throw my thoughts onto the page and not worry about how perfect it is. So thats what I'm doing now and you get to read it, if you want.


So I thought it was about time that I gave you all a definition of the climbing terms I use. Climbers tend to use their own language when it comes to describing their sport. And its great for communicating with each other but the rest of the world is left out of the loop.


But I'm too lazy to define all the terms myself so I thought I would just link you to a website that has already done the hard work for me. So if you want to know what I'm talking about when I say I onsighted a climb or the difference between trad climbing and sport climbing, just go here.


Glad we got that out of the way. Now I have a flight to New zealand at 6.20am in the morning. Ugh thats so early. Guess I'll have an early night.


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page