top of page
  • Writer's pictureJess Eastman

Adventure is life

I'm juggling a PhD with all my adventures... Why am I writing a blog?




Hello and welcome to my first ever blog!


Ok, I'm writing this blog to share with you my adventures as I try to become a good climber. I started climbing at the same time that I started my PhD in physics about 3 years ago and I've been balancing my time between both ever since. I wouldn't say I'm a very good climber, my onsight sport grade is currently 18 with only 1 onsight at that level. I'm a pretty mediocre climber really and I'm ok admitting that. I would say that the biggest thing stopping me from pushing my limits in climbing is my inability to commit to hard or scary moves. I'm more likely to downclimb to safety than push through a hard crux on a climb at my limit. So if you're looking for a blog on how to climb better or what its like being awesome at climbing, don't come to me...


The main reason I'm writing this blog is to practice my writing and to share my adventures. I love to write and I love adventures. Put the two together and what else am I going to do? Unfortunately there is never any time for me to write for fun, I'm supposed to be writing a thesis remember! So short blog entries are the beginning for me, another passion I will probably become obsessed with for a short period of time before I get overwhelmed by it all. Maybe you're interested in hearing about the life of a mediocre climber, in which case I welcome you. I aim to write about my big adventures in this blog, which I guess aren't really all that big so far but hey, I'm a poor student trying to buy all the expensive climbing gear I can. My goal is go to on many adventures over the coming years, some big, some small. And I plan on training to be a better climber (and I plan on telling you all about it).


I'm not just a climber, I just love being outdoors in nature. Adventuring with my friends is the best way to destress from my PhD. I love hiking, camping, skiing and climbing. About two weeks ago, I went on a 3 day hike to Mt Kosciuszko National park with 4 other friends. I'll probably tell you about it in another blog. There was a moment on the trip where one of us could have been severely injured but we all came out of it alright.


I've had a lot of travel adventures over the past year and I hope to keep having them. I hope you enjoy following me along the way. Next weekend is the Canberra day long weekend. Which means a climbing/camping trip to the Blue mountains for us.

I found my climbing courage last time I was climbing in the Blue mountains when I climbed this epic climb (Mezzaluna,16). It was the first onsight where I truly pushed myself to not give up. With some help from my encouraging friends below, I made it to the top. It was my proudest send and hopefully I can climb something just as epic this weekend.


52 views0 comments
bottom of page