top of page
  • Writer's pictureJess Eastman

Cake and Climbing

Blogging is hard...


Honestly though, how does one even blog? I promise I haven't abandoned you all. I just struggle to find time to write. And when I do have time, I don't know what to write. I'm about half way through writing a post about climbing in the blue mountains, which happened a week ago now. But the weekend was so full of activities that its overwhelming to write about. And at the same time I'm trying to write a paper for my PhD work which needs to be done this month!

So lets start small and go from there. The weekend that just came I celebrated my 25th birthday and of course there was some climbing but not much, it was my weekend off from travel and climbing. A great weekend for relaxing with St Patricks day and Skyfire on Saturday and family time on Sunday.


Saturday was perfect weather for a picnic by the lake with friends. I got there around 4.30pm, plenty of time before Skyfire to find a carpark and a spot by the National Library (right next to the bouldering wall). A few hours of some of my favourite things: Cheese platter and chips, beer, bouldering and chatting with friends and then fireworks! Usually I'm on the north side of the lake for the fireworks but being on the library side offered a great view of it.

Sunday weather was not so great. I was supposed to have lunch on a boat with my family but the winds were too strong and the whole thing was cancelled. So instead we had lunch at Bookplate in the Library. We sat outside in the mad winds because there wasn't any space for 8 people inside. I ordered pancakes and it came with a waffle cone on top.

I had two cakes over the weekend, one with my friends on Saturday and one with my family on Sunday. Oh boy do I feel spoiled, theres still half a cake in my fridge for me to pig out on. Looks like I'm having dessert every night this week.

Monday came pretty quick after such a relaxing weekend, now its back to chaos. The next few weeks are going to be super busy. Next weekend is the Blue mountains again, then the easter long weekend, then I'm off to New Zealand for bouldering at Castle Hill! I've never been to New Zealand so I'm super excited for this trip. Flights are booked, so its definitely happening now!! Woohoo!

There will be a post on climbing in the Blue mountains soon I promise :)



19 views0 comments
bottom of page