top of page
  • Writer's pictureJess Eastman

It's been a long winter...And now it's over!

Updated: Sep 12, 2018


This picture was taken on a hike that I was going to tell you about in my unfinished blog months ago. I quite like how the sun plays with the trees.

Hey guys,

It's me, I'm back. For how long, who knows. Like most things I do in life, this hobby of blogging has been put on the back-burner while I let other things like PhD and my other hobbies come to the front. So I have an almost complete blog sitting in my drafts pile from before winter that I never managed to post. And I had an idea for another post that is just as long ago... It's terrible I know, but there's been a real lack of motivation this winter for me. There really hasn't been any adventures to speak of and I've just been dealing with so much stress and anxiety that working up the courage to do adventurous things has been really hard.

Life has just been too busy, I'm in the final 6 months of my PhD now and I still have plans for another project I'm working on. And I'm writing up at the same time (or at least should be writing up). There's this feeling of impending deadlines and time running out that really makes me stress. Does anyone else feel that?



Everyone needs a release from stress, and I found mine through painting. Which is why I've been spending so much of my spare time painting landscapes lately. I enjoy painting and creating new things, so much so that its become more of an obsession than a hobby, all I can think about is painting. Which is probably not the healthiest thing for me right now while I'm trying to finish my PhD but hey its definitely helping with the stress.

And I really enjoy the admin tasks that come with trying to promote my art and sell my art. If you don't know, I opened up an Etsy store a couple weeks ago to sell my art. You can check it out using this link. And I also created a facebook page to go with it, which you can find here. Its kind of crazy how much I am enjoying having my own small business, this is something I've never done and never thought of doing in the past.


And here I am, with an art store. I'm usually a pretty closed off person, not interacting much on social media and not expressing myself except of course through this blog. But this Etsy store and the tasks that go with it have allowed me to discover who I am and share that with the world and that makes me really happy.


So I'm going to continue painting and continue working on my digital art because its something that I absolutely love doing. And if you like what I paint, think about purchasing a piece or just follow me on facebook and instagram and give me some feedback on the art I'm making. How do you think it could improve?


Now that spring is here, I'd say there will be more outdoor activities coming up, but I really don't know what will happen. I will keep taking photographs on nature because I love doing it, especially now that the trees are blossoming and look sooo beautiful. I don't know whats going to happen with this blog since I've left it untouched since May! But what do you guys think? Should I blog more? Is my voice one that you want to hear? And what should I blog about? I've considered turning this into an art blog but the whole idea was to blog about adventures so should I keep the two hobbies separate? I'm not sure... Let me know what you think. Meanwhile, after my second cup of tea, its time to get moving and go to work.


Later guys!





21 views0 comments
bottom of page